Share on LinkedInShare on LinkedInShare on FacebookShare on FacebookTweet thisTweet this



Minimize menuMaximise menu

Minimize menuMaximise menuHomeAutomotiveQuality, Health, Safety & EnvironmentSustainabilityEnvironmental AuditsBS 8555 - Certification - Implementation of Environmental Management Systems

Related Links

BS 8555 - Certification - Implementation of Environmental Management Systems

Customers, consumers and shareholders are increasingly demanding environmentally responsible products and services. They expect you to comply with environmental standards and demonstrate your commitment to the environment in the day-to-day operations of your company. Clients increasingly want proof of this commitment and following the BS 8555 guideline is your opportunity to demonstrate your commitment to eco-ethics.

BS 8555 provides an effective way for organisations to spread the costs of implementing a generic environmental management system. In addition to improved legal compliance, many of our clients report increased employee morale that results from knowing that you are environmentally aware. An SGS environmental management system (EMS) audit provides recognition and independent verification of your achievements and marks progress towards obtaining ISO 14001 and/or EMAS certification.

SGS’s global team of qualified lead auditors have the environmental, technical and regulatory knowledge to deliver the most meaningful and professional EMS implementation guides, which assist you in meeting your environmental objectives.

BS 8555 has six key phases, each of which has been divided into a number of key stages. If you choose BS8555 certification, your organisation works towards achieving the criteria defined for each of the stages, which in turn form the basis of the inspection for each phase. Although the six phases must be completed in sequence, assessment can be either against a single phase at a time or against a group of phases. Completion of the sixth phases leads to registration against a recognised environmental standard (ISO 14001 and/or EMAS). The six phases of BS8555 include:

  1. Establishing a baseline
  2. Identifying and assuring compliance with legal and other requirements
  3. Developing objectives, targets and programmes
  4. Implementation and operation of the EMS
  5. Checking, audit and management reviews
  6. Environmental Management System acknowledgement

Highly qualified SGS auditors do not turn audits into the simple filling-in of a checklist and checking of your document systems. They are trained the globally recognised 'SGS way' - they listen to you, while being objective and ethical at all times. Contact us to learn how you can improve your environmental footprint through adopting BS8555 with SGS.

Email us
SGS Academy BrochureSGS UK AcademyDownload the brochure here (PDF 8MB) ...


SGS United Kingdom Ltd

  • Inward Way
    Rossmore Business Park
    Ellesmere Port, Cheshire, CH65 3EN
    United Kingdom
  • t   +44 (0) 151 350 6666
  • f   +44 (0) 151 350 6600
  • e   Email us


Sign up to SGS publications and newsletters from your region and around the world.

Office Directory

Find SGS offices and labs around the world.United Kingdom map
Office Locator Box